Kaplan University Online College Review

kaplan university reviewKaplan University caught my attention because they consider their school to be “a different school of thought.” Being an online school, I was surprised to find out they offer more than 170 degrees. Everything I’ve heard about Kaplan tells me they are flexible with their students making their school an ideal place for busy students who are trying to juggle the demands of everyday life and their education.

Click Here to Request Free Information

When I found out that Kaplan lets students try out classes for free I couldn’t believe it. This is something I’ve never heard of before. Their unique approach to education is demonstrated in what they call The Kaplan Commitment(SM). They have this program set up to help students make an informed decision about their choice in education, Kaplan allows students to attend the first 5 weeks of class for free. That’s right – you pay nothing for the first five weeks. This gives you time to decide if Kaplan is the right fit for you without any sort of financial obligation. After the five week period if you don’t want to continue at Kaplan you can make that decision without losing out on the cost of tuition. The only upfront cost is the application fee. If you decide to stick with the school then you pay your tuition and continue to complete the class.

Kaplan University is an accredited university and they offer 170 degrees and programs. You can choose from a graduate, undergraduate, certificate, and diploma programs in a variety of different areas of study. The programs they offer are in the follow Areas of Study:

  • Business
  • Criminal Justice
  • Legal Studies
  • Nursing
  • Technology
  • Arts & Sciences
  • Education
  • Health Sciences

I believe going to school is an investment you make in yourself, but I also believe it doesn’t have to put you in debt. Kaplan offers education at a competitive rate which is another reason why the school got my attention. There are many options available to pay for school such as range of financial aid and scholarship available to students.

Overall, the best way to find out what Kaplan University has to offer is to request a free information package. It’s 100% free and will help you find out exactly what degrees and courses they has to offer, along with tuition fees and more.

Click Here to Request Free Information

16 Responses to Kaplan University Online College Review

  1. Joe C. September 13, 2010 at 5:24 am #

    Nice job of combating "deceptive" practices by for-profit institutions with a deceptive and fabricated story. For a former construction worker, you seem to know a lot about the internal workings of the industry.

    This was obviously created to further Senator Harkin's agenda.

    If you want to be taken seriously, use real stories from real people.

    • admin September 13, 2010 at 6:15 am #

      I'm not sure what you have against people who have worked construction – it hasn't been my experience that they are incapable of using the Internet to research a topic after they have been burned. It took me all of 20 minutes to verify the facts he presented. I doubt Senator Harkin would bother to comment on this site in order to further his legislation, and unless he plans on opening a competing school to prey on the poor and uneducated, then I can't see why he would lie.

      As I stated at the end of the article, as the editor on this site I have notified Kaplan and [edited] of the review and given them an opportunity to respond on here and either dispute or clarify any of the facts presented. However, since you seem to be such a huge fan of Kaplan, perhaps you could share your own experience. Did you find it beneficial to overpay for a degree that isn't widely recognized just so you could go to school online, despite the fact that every major university offers the same online opportunities for less money and from a respected institution? Interested to hear your response…

  2. admin September 13, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

    We're still awaiting a response from Pierce Feuerherd on these issues, but as of yet they have no comment.

  3. pissedvictim September 15, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

    I can't believe more articles aren't being written on this subject. I owe over $50k to Kaplan and they keep trying to put me on payment plans i can't afford and have screwed up my credit. My hatred for them is deep, don't make the same mistakes I did. I work as a receptionist at my cousins dental lab making peanuts in ajob completely unrelated to my so called degree I got from Kaplan. But like the article says, nobody takes these degrees seriously. I feel like I paid $50k from a degree mill.

  4. steve adams September 23, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

    Its funny that the Chair of the Criminal Justice Department at Kaplan, Robert Kopczynski, was just arrested for Forgery somewhere in Dupage County Illinois. Go figure.

  5. emer December 2, 2010 at 7:22 am #

    Thanks so much, I was an inch apart from enrollment to kaplan.After this oh no I’ll settle for my near community college.

  6. PatitoC December 8, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    Hi, I just want to say THANK YOU for saving me from making a huge mistake!!

    I chose another online school and so far, I'm very happy with my choice. I read tons of reviews all over the net and there was an overwhelming amount of negative comments on Kaplan University, so it's not just this website. All the stories were about pretty much the same issues. "money/fraud", "financial aid office" , and once they recruit the students, they dump them like a hot potato and treat them terribly. I can't believe i was sooooo close to signing on the bottom line. Once I said I was looking into another college due to all of the bad reviews I'd read, they never called me back. It was so peaceful finally. Most of those schools were hounding me and my kids were even having to deal with nasty admission "sales men/women" when they answered the phone because I was not home. Not just Kaplan, but also ashford, keiser, southern.. etc… It is horrible those sales people were calling us day and night and up to 5 or 6 times a day.. It was a zoo! I was about to sign the financial aid papers and I had already applied and tested!! I got a bad gut feeling and spent 3 nights reading over 400 reviews. I am so glad that I dropped Kaplan just in time. THANKS!!!

  7. Rogelio B. December 9, 2010 at 5:32 am #

    I have a story and the evidence all over my email box, I might not owe Kaplan over 50K, but they have ruined my financial stability. I'm currently speaking with some of the HELP commitee members and today I will speak with Sen. Harkin and with news reporters to share my story. VICTIMS OF THIS COLLEGES DO NOT STAY SILENT speak up and together we can be a louder voice I'm sure there's more of us victims than there is of them. Thanks for bringing the TRUTH. If there is people in need of guideance go to:

    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/takenumdown2010/
    and join this group will provide an inmense amount of help and guideance.

  8. Jammie Steele January 4, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    As a former student of Kaplan I can relate to the article as written above. I had a horrible experience and wish I had done more research into this "school" before I enrolled. To begin with I requested information about the school and had a councilor calling within 30 seconds and when I didn't commit right away they called several times a day. After asking the enrollment person some questions I decided to try it out. I was told that the classes were convenient which they were not. The technology often did not work. Their class sites would often be down or it would take up to 30 min. to log in. The worst thing is that I asked specifically about their accreditation and was told that they were state accredited and credits would transfer to any school if I decided Kaplan was not right for me. this was a giant lie. I am out a huge amount of money for one semester of school, the credits are worthless, and I would recommend working at McDonalds for the rest of your life before attending Kaplan University.

  9. Gia Smith January 26, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    Every time I call Financial Aid department I get a different story. They are not allowed to email students anymore. So we don't have proof of what a financial aid advisor told us. On my first academic year, financial aid told me a loan was erased by error and for me not to worry because they will fix it. Couple of month pass, than I stared getting private calls from Kaplan everyday telling me that I have to pay for that money. After going back and forth with them for weeks, my parents did a Parent Plus loan and it was approved to cover it. But I am still getting calls, some financial aid officers told me that I am going to keep getting calls until they get the Parent Plus Loan, they said it was approved but it may take months. Some financial aid officers don't even see that loan on file. I don't know what to do.

  10. B. Goldberg March 2, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    I have attended Kaplan and will graduate shortly. None the less, I would recommend almost any other school (online or otherwise). Kaplan's administrative departments are a mess, creating endless red tape and busy work. The school's technical support is a nightmare which makes it almost impossible to attend classes. Instructors and classes are feckless and inane, and the academics are poor (you won't learn a thing). All in all, this is one academic institution to avoid if you are serious about an education or the public's perception of your credentials.

    • Llaovell May 22, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

      Technical support is a “joke”. It is atrocious when one has to tell them how to resolve a problem! Between Financial Aid, Academic Support, and technology issues, what you state is true. Kaplan pushes the envelope in emotional duress! No joke, during one term I was so stressed out I became ill to the point of withdrawing from class! This just downgraded my GPA and, of course, I was charged for the course. When Kaplan changed their platform, all students should have been availed a refund, it was nothing but a huge mess, waste of time, and stress. All the while, I was being told, “Don’t worry; we will take care of the details you concentrate on your coursework”. No one follows up. You think you are getting a two-week break, but instead are stressing out trying to keep track of all the individuals you have spoken to, made promises by, and find out they are gone!

  11. DissappointedKraplan May 31, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    I wouldn't say that I did not learn anything, but I am definitely disappointed with Kraplan. This is what a former classmate and I named the school after being let down time and time again by the instructor and school. I am so far in to it I think I will finish at least with the AS program. I just hope they aren't totally torn apart in the news so my degree will have some kind of integrity. As much as I hate this school and think most of the bad testimonials are correct and can sympathize, don't forget to think about us who actually finished and deserve the accreditation of our degree and putting up with the countless bulls(&**. The school was awesome at first though, now think they have made too many budget cuts and it is affecting their staff quality and yes their students feel every bit of it. INCOMPETENCE!!!!! INCOMPETENCE!!!!! Thanks for the books though lol (IT Program)

  12. kkima68 July 7, 2011 at 12:55 am #

    I graduated from Kaplan in Arlington, TX the end of 2010. I took Medical coding/billing. This school and course is a joke. It was a big waste of money for me. Some of the things promised in the beginning were never taught (Microsoft Office). Other things that I am finding now should have been taught and are crucial to coding, was not. We had an awesome teacher who really cared about his students and if they learned. But other than him, no one really cared.

  13. kkima68 July 7, 2011 at 12:55 am #

    It’s a money making business, plain and simple. I have worked in health insurance and billing for 17 years before attending Kaplan. I just wanted to get my coding certification. I don't know about other areas, but DFW doesn’t care about your certification or school transcript. If you don’t have 3-5 years experience in coding, they won't even give you an interview. I graduated with a 3.96 GPA and learned everything they taught with high grades. So, it isn’t that I did not apply myself. What most people do not know is, you do not need to go to school to do medical billing. Only to get a coding certification. 15K later, it was an expensive lesson for me for a whole lot of nothing. And as far as career services go in helping you find work, it is also a joke. They scour the same job ads and job boards via the Internet that I was doing myself at home. Never again!!!

  14. Llaovell May 22, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    I wish Kaplan would make it more opaque what the $100 per course “lab” fee is. While I was taking Biology, we participated in experiments. I never received any lab materials for this course. What do lab fees have to do with courses that are driven by research, writing, and printing e-books? It would be nice if they supplied books as promised. e-books are not environmentally friendly, plus the cost of ink, disposal of the cartridge and the reams of paper bought. Kaplan would be much more opaque if they just stated their tuition cost and added $100 per credit hour. I was horrified in recent classes that many students were not availed the recent copy of the APA. These costs could be resolved as “lab fees”. The Ombudsman’s office is jokes, personnel changes every day, do not communicate with Kaplan University unless you document.

Leave a Reply